FRANKLIN SPECIAL SCHOOL DISTRICT
Age – A child who will be 5 years of age on or before September 30th may enter kindergarten provided he/she enrolls at the beginning of the term.
A child who will be 6 years of age on or before September 30th may enter the first grade provided he/she enters at the beginning of the school term. Enrollment is required if he/she is 7 years old.
All children who plan to attend first grade in the Franklin Special School District and are not in kindergarten in the FSSD this year should be registered on April 25.
Birth Certificate – In order to comply with Tennessee state law, a LEGAL birth certificate is required of all children entering school for the first time to verify name and age. Please note that neither the “mother’s copy” or hospital certificate are acceptable. A child who does not have his/her birth certificate will not be allowed to enter school in the fall.
Immunization Record – Tennessee law requires that all children (unless otherwise exempted as provided by law) show proof of immunization. School attendance will not be permitted until the Tennessee Child Health Record (green card) is brought to the school.
Health Examination – The law further states that there shall be a complete medical examination of every child entering school for the first time. This is part of the Tennessee Child Health Record form. School attendance will not be permitted without the health examination.
Social Security Number – All children are now required to have their social security number on file with their school. If your child does not have a social security number, FSSD will provide a school number.
Proof of Residency – Please bring two proofs of residency documents (e.g.: recent utility bills, cable bill, or lease agreement) with your name and current address on the document. If you reside with another family, the person you reside with must fill out a Residency Affidavit notarized by a Notary Public. Along with the affidavit, that person must also present two documents as proof of residency (a recent utility bill, cable bill, or lease agreement) under his/her name and a photo I.D.
Parents are urged to register their children on April 25 even if they do not have their birth certificate and health form.